Skip to content

Orchestra of the Finnish National Opera @ Musiikkitalo

15.8.2024 – 1.4.2025
Price range
20–72 €

A one-of-a-kind concert series at Musiikkitalo

In autumn 2024, The Orchestra of the Finnish National Opera (FNO) will enchant audiences at Musiikkitalo with the launch of a new, unique concert series. Concertgoers will be treated to gems of orchestral music and vocal performances by leading names from around the world. The programme reflects the full variety of life and human emotions.

The 2024–2025 season will feature a series of four concerts, with solo performances by sopranos Karita Mattila and Kristine Opolais, tenor Josep Calleja, bass-baritone Johan Reuter, and bass Mika Kares. In addition to Chief Conductor Hannu Lintu, the orchestra will be conducted for the first time in Helsinki by the brilliant, internationally acclaimed young talents Roderick Cox and Aivis Greters.

The concert series by The Orchestra of the FNO at Musiikkitalo is made possible by the financial support of Hannele and Henrik von Wendt.

The concert on 15 August is part of the Helsinki Festival programme.

The Orchestra of the Finnish National Opera


15.8. Hannu Lintu & Karita Mattila
Sofia Gubaidulina: The Wrath of God
Ludwig van Beethoven: Ah! Perfido! op. 65
Richard Wagner: Liebestod from opera Tristan und Isolde
Alexander Scriabin: La Poème de l’Extase

5.11. Roderick Cox, Kristine Opolais & Mika Kares
Dmitry Shostakovich: Symphony n:o 14 op. 135
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances

14.1. Hannu Lintu & Johan Reuter
Frank Martin: Sechs Monologe aus Jedermann
Gustav Mahler: Symphony n:o 6

1.4. Aivis Greters & Joseph Calleja
Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Capriccio Italien op. 45
Giuseppe Verdi: arias
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Sheherazade op. 35

tickets and performances

The concert on 15 August is part of the Helsinki Festival programme. Concert tickets are available in Musiikkitalo’s web shop.