Skip to Content

Hannu Lintu’s passion for conducting was sparked by his visit to the Savonlinna Opera Festival at the age of 11. While watching the performance of Don Carlos with his family, the young cellist was mesmerised by what was happening in the orchestra pit rather than the events on the stage. His fascination with opera was already shaping his identity as musician back then.

Operas didn’t play a major role in the conducting degree programme of the Sibelius Academy, but soon after finishing his education, Lintu was mentored by Ulf Söderblom who gave him advice for several works. Lintu has listed Wagner, Verdi, Richard Strauss and Alban Berg as the opera composers closest to his heart.

As an opera conductor, Hannu Lintu wants to be involved in each production as early on as possible. He is keen to immerse himself in the director’s plans, enjoys participating in music and direction rehearsals, explores the sets, and aims to grow together with the production from the very start.

In 2022–2023, his second season at the Finnish National Opera and Ballet, Chief Conductor Hannu Lintu will conduct three premieres: Die Walküre in autumn 2022 and Turandot and Siegfried in spring 2023. He will also perform as a guest conductor in Paris, Amsterdam, Lisbon, London, Berlin, New York, St Louis and Montreal. To find out more, visit his website at hannulintu.fi

On stage

Fri 27.1.2023
at 19:00
sold out
Fri 27.1.2023 cast
Calaf
Aleksandrs Antonenko
Pong
Tomas Pavilionis
Tue 31.1.2023
at 19:00
on sale
Tue 31.1.2023 cast
Calaf
Aleksandrs Antonenko
Thu 2.2.2023
at 19:00
on sale
Thu 2.2.2023 cast
Calaf
Aleksandrs Antonenko
Pong
Tomas Pavilionis
Sat 4.2.2023
at 19:00
only few left
Sat 4.2.2023 cast
Calaf
Aleksandrs Antonenko
Wed 8.2.2023
at 19:00
on sale
Wed 8.2.2023 cast
Pong
Tomas Pavilionis
Fri 10.2.2023
at 19:00
on sale
Fri 10.2.2023 cast
Thu 2.3.2023
at 19:00
on sale
Thu 2.3.2023 cast
Pong
Tomas Pavilionis
Sat 4.3.2023
at 19:00
on sale
Sat 4.3.2023 cast
Fri 24.3.2023
at 17:00
only few left
Fri 24.3.2023 cast
Wed 29.3.2023
at 17:00
on sale
Wed 29.3.2023 cast
Tue 11.4.2023
at 17:00
on sale
Tue 11.4.2023 cast
Fri 14.4.2023
at 17:00
only few left
Fri 14.4.2023 cast
Mon 17.4.2023
at 17:00
on sale
Mon 17.4.2023 cast
Sat 22.4.2023
at 14:00
sold out
Sat 22.4.2023 cast