Skip to Content
Total duration 30 min
no intermission
44 performances
30.8.2021 – 10.5.2022
With children
Balcony Foyer
tickets
10 €
Performed in Finnish

Cheerful and colourful opera

Our mini opera of the beloved Magic Flute is a fast-paced, fabulously fun fairy tale, in which two versatile singers play six different roles and two musicians interpret Mozart’s immortal tunes. The familiar story of the Magic Flute is still there, but with some tantalising new twists. This time around, Pamina has left the club of the Queen of the Night for that of Sarastro, making the Queen of the Night so angry that she threatens to punish everyone: ”I shall sing a high F to make you all deaf!”

The cheerful Mini Operas are recommended for everyone over the age of 2.

Your safety is important to us

We recommend everyone who visits the Opera House to wear a face mask. We kindly ask you to arrive at the performance in good time and only when you are not feeling ill. Our personnel are happy to help you whenever necessary.

Read more about our safety recommendations here.

Please note that all visitors, regardless of their age, must have their own ticket. 

Tickets & Performances

30 min
no intermission
44 performances
30.8.2021 – 10.5.2022
With children
Balcony Foyer
tickets
10 €
Performed in Finnish
Mon 30.8.2021
at 14:00
Mon 30.8.2021
at 15:00
Tue 31.8.2021
at 14:00
Tue 31.8.2021
at 15:00
Mon 27.9.2021
at 14:00
Mon 27.9.2021
at 15:00
Tue 28.9.2021
at 14:00
Tue 28.9.2021
at 15:00
Sat 9.10.2021
at 9:30
Sat 9.10.2021
at 10:30
Sat 9.10.2021
at 14:00
Sat 9.10.2021
at 15:00
Mon 25.10.2021
at 14:00
Mon 25.10.2021
at 15:00
Tue 26.10.2021
at 14:00
Tue 26.10.2021
at 15:00
Wed 24.11.2021
at 14:00
Wed 24.11.2021
at 15:00
Thu 25.11.2021
at 14:00
Thu 25.11.2021
at 15:00
Mon 17.1.2022
at 14:00
Mon 17.1.2022
at 15:00
Tue 18.1.2022
at 14:00
Tue 18.1.2022
at 15:00
Mon 14.2.2022
at 14:00
Mon 14.2.2022
at 15:00
Tue 15.2.2022
at 14:00
Tue 15.2.2022
at 15:00
Mon 7.3.2022
at 14:00
Mon 7.3.2022
at 15:00
Tue 8.3.2022
at 14:00
Tue 8.3.2022
at 15:00
Sat 26.3.2022
at 9:30
Sat 26.3.2022
at 10:30
Sat 26.3.2022
at 14:00
Sat 26.3.2022
at 15:00
Mon 11.4.2022
at 14:00
Mon 11.4.2022
at 15:00
Tue 12.4.2022
at 14:00
Tue 12.4.2022
at 15:00
Mon 9.5.2022
at 14:00
Mon 9.5.2022
at 15:00
Tue 10.5.2022
at 14:00
Tue 10.5.2022
at 15:00

#MiniOpera #TheMagicFlute

Lasten taidetuokio_Lapset

Join in

The audience is invited to join in: everyone is doing a lot of things in these productions, with soloists in multiple roles, and the musicians are not always what they seem.

Gallery

Plot

What a day it is for Papageno: first, he has to rescue prince Tamino from a dinosaur, then he must find princess Pamina and pass the test to join Sarastro’s exclusive club. As if that weren’t hard enough for an ordinary birdwatcher, he still needs to come up with a way to get rid of the high-pitched Queen of the Night. And, he absolutely has to find his very own Papagena. There’s simply no way he could do all this without magical instruments. Might Papageno possess anything of the sort?

Creative team

Original opera
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Libretto edited from the original opera, arrangements, director
Juhani Koivisto

Sets and costumes
Anna Kontek

Lighting design
Olli-Pekka Koivunen

Cast

Mini Opera for daycare groups

As part of our co-operation with the municipalities of the Helsinki Metropolitan Area, we offer local daycare groups the chance to participate in our Mini Opera free of charge. For daycare groups from outside the area there are some free places too. Please enrol for the performances in advance. Participants are selected in order of enrolment, but first-timers are prioritised.

Enrolment for spring 2022 will begin on Monday 22 November at 9 AM. Enrol here. 

Performances for daycare groups in spring 2022 are:

17 Jan at 9.30 AM

18 Jan at 10.30 AM

14–15 Feb at 9.30 and 10.30 AM

7–8 Mar at 9.30 and 10.30 AM

11–12 Apr at 9.30 and 10.30 AM

9–10 May at 9.30 and 10.30 AM

For more information, please email us at taaperot@opera.fi