Skip to Content
Total duration 25 min
36 performances
29.1.2018 – 15.1.2019
With children
Balcony Foyer
tickets
10 €
Mini Opera: Cinderella

A cheerful short opera

Cinderella’s sisters go to a ball where they hope to court the favour of the Prince, leaving Cinderella at home to clean the house. Her stepmother has hopes of bringing the Prince home for an after-party. Fortunately, a magic flute conjures up a spectacular gown for Cinderella to wear, and the people at the ball are dazzled by the mysterious beauty dancing in glass slippers.

The familiar story of Cinderella and her ugly sisters is presented in a hilariously updated 30-minute opera to the bubbling tunes of Rossini. As with the hugely popular Magic Flute for Toddlers and Barber of Seville, this version of La cenerentola is presented by two versatile singers and two musicians who are also actors, and puppets complement the cast. A brisk and cheerful short opera suitable for everyone!

#miniooppera

CINDERELLA

My stupid sisters bully me,
my stepmother won’t set me free.
Scrub and sweep by sun and moon,
I will have a burnout soon!

STEPMOTHER

We’ll attend the royal ball.

SISTERS

And for us the Prince will fall.

STEPMOTHER

Cindy stays to clean the house.

SISTERS

In the kitchen, dirty mouse.

CINDERELLA

Why would I go to the ball?
I have no friends there not at all.
Princes go for beauties,
of a noble blood,
not for housemaids low as mud.

 

Gallery

Mini Opera: Cinderella

Join in

The audience is invited to join in: everyone is doing a lot of things in these productions, with soloists in multiple roles, and the musicians are not always what they seem.

Mini Opera for daycare groups

As part of our co-operation with the municipalities of the Helsinki Metropolitan Area, we offer local daycare groups the chance to participate in our Mini Opera free of charge. For daycare groups from outside the area there are some free places too. Please enrol for the performances in advance via the link below (enrolment started Wed 14 November at 9 AM). 

Enrol here

Participants are selected in order of enrolment, but first-timers are prioritised.

Spring 2019 schedule:

14.1.2019

15.1.2019

The performances will take place on the above dates at 9:30 AM, 10:30 AM and 2:00 PM

For more information, please email us at taaperot@opera.fi

Creative team

Libretto edited from the original opera, translations, arrangements, director
Juhani Koivisto

Sets and costumes
Anna Kontek

Performances and tickets

25 min
36 performances
29.1.2018 – 15.1.2019
With children
Balcony Foyer
tickets
10 €
Mon 14.1.2019
at 14:00
Parvilämpiö
only few left
Mon 14.1.2019
at 15:00
Parvilämpiö
only few left
Tue 15.1.2019
at 14:00
Parvilämpiö
on sale
Tue 15.1.2019
at 15:00
Parvilämpiö
sold out
Mon 29.1.2018
at 14:30
Mon 29.1.2018
at 15:30
Tue 30.1.2018
at 14:30
Tue 30.1.2018
at 15:30
Mon 26.2.2018
at 14:30
Mon 26.2.2018
at 15:30
Tue 27.2.2018
at 14:30
Tue 27.2.2018
at 15:30
Tue 20.3.2018
at 14:30
Tue 20.3.2018
at 15:30
Wed 21.3.2018
at 14:30
Wed 21.3.2018
at 15:30
Mon 23.4.2018
at 14:30
Mon 23.4.2018
at 15:30
Tue 24.4.2018
at 14:30
Tue 24.4.2018
at 15:30
Mon 10.9.2018
at 14:00
Mon 10.9.2018
at 15:00
Tue 11.9.2018
at 14:00
Tue 11.9.2018
at 15:00
Mon 1.10.2018
at 14:00
Mon 1.10.2018
at 15:00
Tue 2.10.2018
at 14:00
Tue 2.10.2018
at 15:00
Mon 5.11.2018
at 14:00
Mon 5.11.2018
at 15:00
Tue 6.11.2018
at 14:00
Tue 6.11.2018
at 15:00
Mon 3.12.2018
at 14:00
Mon 3.12.2018
at 15:00
Tue 4.12.2018
at 14:00
Tue 4.12.2018
at 15:00