Skip to Content
Total duration 2 h 40 min
1 intermission (30 min)
26 performances
3.11.2017 – 9.2.2018
Ballets
Main Stage
tickets
16-129 €

Crossover extravaganza by ballet director Kenneth Greve

The Finnish National Opera and Ballet made a huge investment in the Finland 100 celebrations with a blockbuster production focusing on Finland’s history – and future.

The Land of Kalevala ballet spectacle by Kenneth Greve premiered on 3 November 2017. Its story touches on milestone moments in Finnish history and culture with a bold combination of various art forms. The end result is a playful, touching and slightly mad production that can only be the work of an outside observer. Land of Kalevala is at once a thank-you to, a celebration of and a wake-up call for the Finnish nation. It probes deep into the core of what it is to be Finnish. Do we understand our roots? Do we know where we are going? Do we still have the stamina to dig through grey rock, as the saying goes?

Recommended for children over the age of 9.

Watch Land of Kalevala online

Stage24 video service

Although the circumstances are exceptional, you can still enjoy opera and ballet online. Each Monday and Thursday a recording from previous seasons will be published on Stage24 video service. You can enjoy the performances for free in the comfort of your home.

Stage24
Land of Kalevala Aino

This is not the familiar tale of the Kalevala. This is about the country in which the Kalevala takes root.

Image Gallery

Land of Kalevala Pohjan Akka

The story runs from ancient mysticism to modern times, carried by familiar heroes.

Creative team

Choreography, dramaturgy
Kenneth Greve
Music
kooste / collage
Musical advisor
Tuomas Kantelinen
Set, lighting and projection design
Mikki Kunttu
Costumes
Erika Turunen
Dramaturgy
Pirjo Toikka

Cast

Lemminkäinen
Thibault Monnier
Shadow of aino
Yimeng Sun

#landofkalevala

Land of Kalevala

“Danes have hygge, but Finns have sisu. I admire the guts and power that you can find in this society and in Finnish history. I want to challenge Finns to rediscover their sisu for the next 100 years,”

– Kenneth Greve

Land of Kalevala Sisu

Do we still have Sisu?”

Land of Kalevala

“The main criteria for the music selections were that they should suit the story and movement language of the ballet, carry the narrative and support the dance. Musically, the production will be a veritable bouquet featuring many colours and many composers – including some real surprises!”

– Tuomas Kantelinen

Land of Kalevala

Finnish musical memories

The iconic moments of Finnish history will be underpinned by Finnish musical memories across genre boundaries. The music is being compiled by Tuomas Kantelinen, who will also be providing some original music. The performing ensemble will include internationally known Finnish modern folk musicians such as accordionist Kimmo Pohjonen and the band Värttinä. The Chorus and Orchestra of the FNO will also be there.

Working day: getting ready to Don Quixote, Kenneth Greve

A love letter to the Finnish soul

The Land of Kalevala is Kenneth Greve’s love letter to Finland. Read more about choreographer’s thoughts on the work.

Costume sketches by Erika Turunen

Tickets

2 h 40 min
1 intermission (30 min)
26 performances
3.11.2017 – 9.2.2018
Ballets
Main Stage
tickets
16-129 €
Fri 3.11.2017
at 19:00
Wed 8.11.2017
at 19:00
Fri 10.11.2017
at 19:00
Sat 11.11.2017
at 14:00
Sat 11.11.2017
at 19:00
Tue 14.11.2017
at 19:00
Wed 15.11.2017
at 19:00
Thu 16.11.2017
at 19:00
Sat 18.11.2017
at 14:00
Sat 18.11.2017
at 19:00
Wed 22.11.2017
at 19:00
Fri 24.11.2017
at 19:00
Sat 25.11.2017
at 14:00
Sat 25.11.2017
at 19:00
Sat 13.1.2018
at 14:00
Sat 13.1.2018
at 19:00
Fri 19.1.2018
at 19:00
Sat 20.1.2018
at 19:00
Thu 25.1.2018
at 19:00
Sat 27.1.2018
at 14:00
Sat 27.1.2018
at 19:00
Tue 30.1.2018
at 12:00
Thu 1.2.2018
at 19:00
Sat 3.2.2018
at 14:00
Sat 3.2.2018
at 19:00
Fri 9.2.2018
at 19:00