Skip to Content
Total duration 25 min
32 performances
30.1.2017 – 12.12.2017
Kids and teens
Balcony foyer
tickets
10 €
Performed in Finnish
Art Breaks for Toddlers: The Barber of Seville; Saara Kiiveri

Cheerful and colourful opera

Help! Rosina is in trouble! She likes the Count, but Bartolo forces her to marry himself instead. Who could help? Figaro, of course! Familiar tunes from The Barber of Seville are used in this fun performance suitable for everyone from the age of 2.

This art break for toddlers presents the familiar opera in a new guise. There is plenty of chaos and humour with twists and turns as the characters in a charming miniature theatre come to life. The principal action and greatest hits in the opera have been condensed to less than 30 minutes.

Art Breaks for Toddlers: The Barber of Seville; Sampo Haapaniemi, Saara Kiiveri

Join in

The audience is invited to join in: everyone is doing a lot of things in these productions, with soloists in multiple roles, and the musicians are not always what they seem…

The Barber of Seville for toddlers to be produced also in Swedish

The Barber of Seville (Art Break for Toddlers) will be produced also in Swedish with a grant received from the foundation Svenska Kulturfonden i Björneborg.

Svenska Kulturfonden i Björneborg has given a 30 000 euro grant for the Finnish National Opera, which enables both translating and performing the Barber of Seville in Swedish starting from September 2017. The Swedish performances will be seen in Pori, as well as in Espoo and at the opera house in Helsinki. The Swedish translation will be made by Jan Granberg.

Detailed dates will be published later in the spring.

Creative team

Libretto and director
Juhani Koivisto

Sets and Costumes
Anna Kontek

Lighting design
Olli-Pekka Koivunen 

On stage

Soprano
Saara Kiiveri

Baritone
Sampo Haapaniemi

Guitar
Valtteri Moilanen

Flute
Martta Jämsä

Tickets

25 min
32 performances
30.1.2017 – 12.12.2017
Kids and teens
Balcony foyer
tickets
10 €
Performed in Finnish
Mon 28.8.2017
at 14:30
on sale
Mon 28.8.2017
at 15:30
on sale
Tue 29.8.2017
at 14:30
on sale
Tue 29.8.2017
at 15:30
on sale
Mon 2.10.2017
at 14:30
on sale
Mon 2.10.2017
at 15:30
on sale
Tue 3.10.2017
at 14:30
on sale
Tue 3.10.2017
at 15:30
on sale
Mon 27.11.2017
at 14:30
on sale
Mon 27.11.2017
at 15:30
on sale
Tue 28.11.2017
at 14:30
on sale
Tue 28.11.2017
at 15:30
on sale
Mon 11.12.2017
at 14:30
on sale
Mon 11.12.2017
at 15:30
on sale
Tue 12.12.2017
at 14:30
on sale
Tue 12.12.2017
at 15:30
on sale
Mon 30.1.2017
at 14:30
Mon 30.1.2017
at 15:30
Tue 31.1.2017
at 14:30
Tue 31.1.2017
at 15:30
Mon 27.2.2017
at 14:30
Mon 27.2.2017
at 15:30
Tue 28.2.2017
at 14:30
Tue 28.2.2017
at 15:30
Mon 27.3.2017
at 14:30
Mon 27.3.2017
at 15:30
Tue 28.3.2017
at 14:30
Tue 28.3.2017
at 15:30
Mon 8.5.2017
at 14:30
Mon 8.5.2017
at 15:30
Tue 9.5.2017
at 14:30
Tue 9.5.2017
at 15:30