Skip to Content


The Board of the Finnish National Opera Foundation assumes responsibility for the use of funds, appointments of directors, the FNO’s strategy and repertoire for its three-year term in office as provided in the Foundations Act.

Members of the Board of Directors 2016-2019:

Members appointed by the Ministry of Education and Culture

Leena Niemistö, Chair
Leif Jakobsson
Pekka Pajamo, Chief Financial Officer
Kerttu Tuomas
Jutta Urpilainen, Member of Parliament

Member appointed by Espoo City

Jaana Jalonen, Entrepreneur

Members appointed by Helsinki City

Matti Hirvikallio
Mari Puoskari, Director

Member appointed by Vantaa City

Tapani Mäkinen, Senior Advisor

Other members:

Staff representatives (right to attend and address, no vote)

Kalle Rannikko, Stage Technician
Timo Pulakka, Orchestra Musician
Jouka Valkama, Ballet Dancer

Presenting official (no vote)

Gita Kadambi, General Director

Secretary to the Board (no vote)

Anita Prusila, General Counsel

The Board of Directors 2016-2019

Management 2016

In the back row: Timo Pulakka, Jutta Urpilainen, Tapani Mäkinen, Anita Prusila, Leif Jakobsson, Kerttu Tuomas, Leena Niemistö, Päivi Kärkkäinen, Kalle Rannikko, Mari Puoskari

In the front row: Jouka Valkama, Jaana Jalonen, Pekka Pajamo, Matti Hirvikallio

Hallitus 2014

Members of the Board of Directors 2013-2016

Back row: Patrik Stenström, Pentti Kivinen, Tapani Mäkinen, Kalle Rannikko, Jouka Valkama
Middle: Pekka Pajamo, Jutta Urpilainen, Mari Puoskari, Anita Prusila, Raija-Sinikka Rantala
Front row: Timo Tuovila, Jaana Jalonen, Sirkka Hämäläinen-Lindfors, Päivi Kärkkäinen, Lasse Arvela. Picture from 2014.